LuxuryDade tracks 91 South Florida condo and mixed-use projects that carry a dated published source, and only 34 of them have cleared permitting, while the 73 that publish a unit count add up to 31,038 units. Those 34 permitted projects now hold 41.2 percent of the units, down from 57.5 percent three weeks ago, because almost every project added since has been paper. Ask a sales agent which stage a tower is in before you ask its price.

The Downtown Miami and Brickell skyline seen across Biscayne Bay, the corridor holding most of the tracked development pipeline
Sixty-four of the 91 tracked projects sit in Miami-Dade County, carrying 20,322 of the 31,038 published units. Photo by Prayitno via Flickr, CC BY 2.0.

Every week a buyer sends me a rendering and asks what I think of the building. The rendering never says whether anyone has pulled a permit. It does not say whether a site plan has been filed, whether the land is even under contract, or whether the whole thing is a press release attached to an architect's name. That gap between what a project looks like and where it actually stands is the single most expensive thing a pre-construction buyer does not know.

So I keep a file. This report opens it. It is a stage-by-stage census of the 91 South Florida condominium and mixed-use development projects I track that carry at least one dated published source, current to September 26, 2026. Every project is listed by name further down with its stage and the dated report that assignment rests on, so you can check any single row without asking me. It answers one question in one place: of everything being announced across Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach, how much of it is real right now.

91
Projects With a Dated Source
34
Past Permitting
54
Still on Paper
31,038
Units Published

What Changed This Month: September 2026

This is the monthly update. Every event below is dated, comes from our development tracking file, and links to the original report and to our own page for the project. It covers September 1 to September 30, 2026, read on October 1, 2026. Sixteen residential tower events moved this month; nine of them are announcements, filings, proposals or approvals, which is the paper side of the census below.

Sales launched

  • Sept. 1, 2026. WOMA Wynwood launched sales: Uribe Schwarzkopf opened the 163-unit condo at Northwest 5th Avenue and Northwest 32nd Street, priced from $380,000 to $1.2 million. Source: The Real Deal. See our page.

Construction milestones

  • Sept. 2, 2026. Foundation work is underway at 7200 Collins, a 12-story, 222-unit condominium in North Beach, Miami Beach. Source: Florida YIMBY. See our page.
  • Sept. 14, 2026. The Rider Residences topped off: the 12-story, 152-residence building at 94 NE 29th St is 50 percent sold, with completion expected in the second half of 2027. Source: PROFILEmiami. See our tracker.
  • Sept. 24, 2026. Parkside Residences Brickell reached its second-floor construction milestone, with pricing starting in the $400,000s. Source: PROFILEmiami. See our tracker.
  • Sept. 29, 2026. Completion was announced at Nexo Residences, the 254-residence building at 13899 Biscayne Boulevard in North Miami Beach, with more than 90 percent of the residences sold to buyers from more than 25 countries. Source: Florida YIMBY. See our page.

Construction financing closed

  • Sept. 1, 2026. Shoma Group secured a $172.5 million construction loan for its 24-story, 333-unit condo tower at 1850 John F. Kennedy Causeway in North Bay Village. Source: The Real Deal. See our tracker.
  • Sept. 25, 2026. Bank OZK provided a $259 million construction loan to Fortune International Group and Oak Capital for The Ritz-Carlton Residences, West Palm Beach. Source: Bisnow. See our tracker.

Announced or reshaped

  • Sept. 4, 2026. Fort Partners joined the BH3 and Merrimac joint venture on Watson Harbour, a hotel, condominium, retail and office project on Watson Island. Source: The Real Deal. See our tracker.
  • Sept. 16, 2026. Bugatti Residences Miami was officially revealed: a 60-story tower with 183 residences at 75 SW Miami Avenue Road, with sales slated to launch in the first half of 2027. Source: PROFILEmiami. See our page.

New filings, proposals and approvals

  • Sept. 1, 2026. Urbania Development is planning a 28-story tower with 70 residences at 7915 East Drive in North Bay Village. Source: Florida YIMBY. See our tracker.
  • Sept. 16, 2026. Allied Partners plans a 38-story tower on the Savoy Hotel site at 425 Ocean Drive with a hotel, 90 condo units and 60 workforce rental apartments. Source: The Real Deal. See our tracker.
  • Sept. 20, 2026. Developers filed plans under the Live Local Act to restore the 1939 Bancroft Hotel at 1501 Collins Avenue and build a 25-story tower with 124 residences and 42 hotel rooms. Source: Florida YIMBY. See our tracker.
  • Sept. 20, 2026. El-Ad Properties filed a two-tower plan on East Drive whose 46-story, 518-foot tower would be the tallest ever built in North Bay Village. Source: Markets of Tomorrow. See our tracker.
  • Sept. 21, 2026. Crescent Heights filed for administrative approval of a 43-story tower with 163 residences at 1575 Alton Road, up from an earlier 18-story, 92-unit plan. Source: Florida YIMBY. See our tracker.
  • Sept. 28, 2026. The Weston City Commission approved H&M Development's plan for 132 for-sale condominiums in eleven four-story buildings at 357 Racquet Club Road. Source: The Real Deal. See our page.
  • Sept. 28, 2026. Turnbridge Equities plans Reserve at One Sunset, a 20-story Miami Beach tower with 35 units, 21 of them three to five-bedroom condos and 14 workforce homes, through the Live Local Act. Source: Florida YIMBY. See our tracker.

My read on September: the money moved to projects already in the ground. Two construction loans and four construction milestones landed on permitted projects, the last of them Nexo Residences finishing at more than 90 percent sold, while the two headline launches, WOMA Wynwood and Bugatti Residences Miami, had not cleared permitting in our file. That is the pattern I tell buyers to watch before a deposit: price the stage first, then the unit.

The Stage Census: Where 91 Projects Actually Stand

A development does not go from announcement to keys in one step. It moves through stages, each one a public act that costs the developer real money and creates a real record. Sorting the tracked set by stage is the fastest way to see how much of the noise is signal.

South Florida development projects tracked by LuxuryDade with at least one dated published source, by stage, as of September 26, 2026. Unit totals count only the projects that publish a unit figure.
StageProjectsSharePublishing UnitsUnits
Rumor44.4%1829
Proposed1516.5%132,846
Filed1516.5%137,387
Planned2022.0%156,985
Permitted1516.5%116,409
Under construction1617.6%145,770
Coming soon33.3%3199
Completed33.3%3613
Total91100%7331,038

The single largest stage is planned, with 20 projects. Planned means a design exists and the developer is talking about it publicly, but the building permit is not issued. Add rumor, proposed and filed and 54 of the 91 projects, 59.3 percent, are somewhere in that pre-permit territory where the unit count on the brochure is a proposal rather than a fact. Filed is the stage that grew fastest, from nine projects and 1,869 units on September 5 to 15 projects and 7,387 units now.

A blue tower crane rising over a Brickell construction site in Miami
Sixteen of the 91 tracked projects are under construction, carrying 5,770 published units. Photo by jikatu via Flickr, CC BY-SA 2.0.

Only 37 Percent Have Cleared Permitting, and the Paper Side Now Holds More Units

Group the eight stages into three buckets and the shape of the pipeline changes. Permitted, under construction and completed are the projects that have cleared the legal hurdle to rise. Rumor, proposed, filed and planned are still paper. Coming soon sits between them, marketing a launch without a permit behind it.

Tracked South Florida projects grouped by whether the building permit has issued, September 26, 2026. Unit shares are of the 31,038 units published across 73 projects.
BucketProjectsShare of ProjectsUnitsShare of Units
Past permitting3437.4%12,79241.2%
Still on paper5459.3%18,04758.1%
Coming soon, no permit33.3%1990.6%

That is a reversal from the September 5 edition of this report, and it is the finding of this one. Three weeks ago 29 permitted projects held 57.5 percent of the tracked units while 43 paper projects held 41.7 percent. Today 34 permitted projects hold 41.2 percent and 54 paper projects hold 58.1 percent. Nothing moved backwards and no project lost a permit. The file absorbed 21 new projects between September 5 and September 26, 15 of them still on paper, and two of those filed projects carry more than 700 units each.

The old logic still holds inside each bucket. Reaching a permit in South Florida takes years of carrying cost, consultants and a lender who has looked at the numbers, so the average past-permitting project is still slightly larger at 457 published units against 430 on the paper side. What changed is the balance between the buckets. The announcement side of this market is now growing faster than the permitted side, which is exactly the condition in which a brochure unit count is most likely to be revised.

For a buyer the practical translation is short. Most of the units being talked about in South Florida right now sit behind a permit that has not been issued. The supply that will genuinely compete with your resale in three years is the 12,792 units already cleared to rise, not the 31,038 in the headlines.

People assume the risk in pre-construction is that the market turns. In my experience the more common outcome is quieter than that: the project never gets built, the deposit comes back years later, and the buyer has lost the appreciation they would have earned somewhere real.

Gerardo Gonzalez, Licensed Real Estate Agent at Compass
A fenced construction site with a crawler crane in Downtown Miami, a residential tower rising behind it
Fifty-four of the 91 tracked projects have no building permit issued, holding 18,047 of the published units. Photo by Phillip Pessar via Flickr, CC BY 2.0.

The 31,038 Units the Inventory Reports Cannot See

Every month somebody quotes a months-of-supply number at me as if it settles the question of whether South Florida is oversupplied. It does not, and the reason is printed in the source itself. MIAMI REALTORS states in every release that its sales totals do not include South Florida new construction, pre-construction or condo conversion sales, because they are largely not reported in the MLS (MIAMI REALTORS + RWorld, August 2026).

So the monthly numbers measure the resale market, and they measure it well. Here is what they say, alongside the pipeline they cannot see.

Existing condominium resale supply for August 2026 per MIAMI REALTORS and RWorld, released September 16, 2026, set beside the tracked development pipeline for the same county as of September 26, 2026. The two columns count different things and do not overlap.
CountyResale Months of SupplyActive Resale ListingsTracked Pipeline ProjectsTracked Pipeline Units
Miami-Dade12.111,4956420,322
Broward9.99,427148,210
Palm Beach6.75,770132,506

Miami-Dade resale condo inventory fell 9.04 percent year over year in August 2026, from 12,637 active listings to 11,495, a seventh straight monthly decline (MIAMI REALTORS + RWorld). Broward condo inventory fell 14.84 percent to 9,427 listings (MIAMI REALTORS + RWorld) and Palm Beach fell 17.09 percent to 5,770 (MIAMI REALTORS + RWorld).

Read those two facts together and the market looks different from either one alone. Resale supply is tightening across all three counties for the seventh straight month, while a pipeline of 31,038 tracked units waits behind it, most of it still unpermitted. Neither number is wrong. They just describe different halves of the same market, and only one of them gets published every month.

Miami-Dade Carries 64 of 91, and Broward Builds the Biggest

Concentration matters more than the headline count. Miami-Dade holds 64 of the 91 tracked projects, 70.3 percent of the file, and 25 of those have cleared permitting. I map the major Miami-Dade projects by area in a separate guide. Broward and Palm Beach are far smaller by project count but they are not smaller by ambition.

Tracked South Florida development projects by county, September 26, 2026. Average project size is computed only across the projects in that county that publish a unit count.
CountyProjectsPast PermittingShare Past PermittingUnits PublishedAverage Project
Miami-Dade642539.1%20,322391 units
Broward14535.7%8,210746 units
Palm Beach13430.8%2,506251 units

Broward averages 746 units per project, nearly twice Miami-Dade's 391 and almost three times Palm Beach's 251. Land parcels north of the county line are bigger and cheaper, so the projects that pencil there are large multi-tower schemes rather than single boutique buildings. Palm Beach runs the opposite way, with the smallest average project and the lowest permitted share of the three. Broward also gained the single largest addition of the last three weeks, The Plaza Davie District at 1,292 units, which is already under construction.

The Fort Lauderdale skyline seen over the Intracoastal Waterway with a yacht moored in the foreground
Broward's 14 tracked projects average 746 units each, nearly double the Miami-Dade average of 391. Photo by KeanoManu via Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0.

What Each Stage Means, and What Skipping the Question Costs

Stage language gets used loosely in sales galleries. Here is what each term means in practice, and what it tells you about the odds.

Definitions used to classify each project in this report, with the number of tracked projects at that stage on September 26, 2026.
StageWhat Has Actually HappenedProjects
RumorReported interest, a land tour or a broker whisper. Nothing filed, nothing confirmed by the owner.4
ProposedThe developer has announced an intent publicly. Design can still change completely.15
FiledA public application exists with a city or county board. No approval yet.15
PlannedApproved or advancing with a published design and unit count, but no building permit.20
PermittedThe building permit is issued. The project is legally cleared to rise.15
Under constructionWork is visibly underway on site, from piles to topping out.16
Coming soonSales are being marketed ahead of a permit. Timeline is a target, not a schedule.3
CompletedDelivered. Any remaining units are developer inventory, not pre-construction.3
  • Rumor and proposed: treat the unit count, the price and the delivery year as placeholders. All three routinely move.
  • Filed and planned: the design is real enough to evaluate, but a deposit here is funding a project that still needs a permit to exist.
  • Permitted: the first stage where the marketed timeline is worth taking seriously. Ask for the permit number.
  • Under construction: the risk shifts from whether it happens to when. Delays are normal, cancellation is rare.
The West Palm Beach skyline lit at night across the Intracoastal with the bridge in the foreground
Palm Beach County has the lowest permitted share of the three counties, with four of 13 tracked projects past permitting. Photo by Andyxox via Wikimedia Commons, CC BY-SA 4.0.

Where the Reporting Comes From: 129 Dated Citations

A pipeline file is only as good as what it is built from. Every one of the 91 projects here carries at least one dated report from a named publication or a developer's own site, 129 citations in total, and 123 of those 129 were published in 2026. The newest is dated September 23, 2026.

Publications behind the 129 dated citations supporting the 91 tracked projects, September 26, 2026.
PublicationDated CitationsShare
Florida YIMBY5441.9%
The Real Deal4534.9%
South Florida Business Journal75.4%
PROFILEmiami53.9%
Bisnow43.1%
Other outlets and developer sites1410.9%

Two outlets, The Real Deal and Florida YIMBY, account for 76.7 percent of the citations. That is a real limitation and worth stating plainly: this file inherits their coverage priorities. A project that never gets written up does not appear here, no matter how far along it is. For wider context on regional volume, Bisnow has put roughly 115 condo projects and nearly 18,000 units in preconstruction across the Downtown Miami core, Miami Beach and Broward.

The Full Register: Every Project, Its Stage and the Dated Report Behind It

A stage count is only worth citing if someone can check it. So here is the whole file, one row per project, sorted from rumor through completed. Each row names the project, the stage I have assigned it, the county, the unit count the developer or the reporting outlet published, and the date and publication of the most recent report that the stage assignment rests on. Click the date to open the source.

If a row looks wrong to you, it is checkable in one click, which is the point. The same table is published as a downloadable CSV with two extra columns, the neighborhood and the date the project first entered the file, so you can reproduce every figure on this page yourself.

Every tracked South Florida project, its stage, and the dated report that assignment rests on, read September 26, 2026. Dates are ISO (YYYY-MM-DD). A blank unit cell means the project publishes no unit count. 91 projects.
ProjectStageCountyUnitsLatest dated source
Blue Lagoon development site (near Miami International Airport)RumorMiami-Dade8292026-08-18, South Florida Business Journal
Mana Wynwood ComplexRumorMiami-Dadenot published2026-08-27, The Real Deal
OKO Group Edgewater waterfront tower (next to Missoni Baia)RumorMiami-Dadenot published2026-06-19, The Real Deal
St. Regis-branded condominium (2023 North Flagler Drive)RumorPalm Beachnot published2026-09-01, Boca Raton Tribune (Palm Beach Post)
1501 Collins Avenue (Bancroft Hotel)ProposedMiami-Dade1242026-09-20, Florida YIMBY
534 Datura Street Live Local towerProposedPalm Beach2612026-09-11, Florida YIMBY
7931 East DriveProposedMiami-Dade1652026-09-20, Markets of Tomorrow
Culmer Gardens on 5thProposedMiami-Dade2502026-08-12, Florida YIMBY
Deerfield Beach City CenterProposedBroward1502026-09-08, Florida YIMBY
Gateway 2ProposedMiami-Dade3762026-08-02, Florida YIMBY
Opa-locka Downtown RedevelopmentProposedMiami-Dadenot published2026-08-06, The Real Deal
Raleigh Miami Beach expansion (Nahla Capital)ProposedMiami-Dadenot published2026-07-07, The Real Deal
Rio Vista ResidencesProposedBroward4402026-09-14, The Real Deal
Savoy Hotel site tower (425 Ocean Drive)ProposedMiami-Dade902026-09-16, The Real Deal
Sunrise Arena District (Amerant Bank Arena redevelopment)ProposedBroward1542026-08-10, The Real Deal
Terra / BH Group Two 31-Story Condo Towers (2085 N Flagler Dr)ProposedPalm Beach2812026-06-18, Florida YIMBY
The Cypress at 400 Corporate DriveProposedBroward3402026-08-30, South Florida Business Journal
Turnberry Isle Condo TowersProposedMiami-Dade1452026-08-10, Bisnow
Urbania Development 28-Story Tower (7915 East Drive)ProposedMiami-Dade702026-09-01, Florida YIMBY
13th Edge (Grupo T&C, near Brickell Metromover)FiledMiami-Dade4002026-06-15, Florida YIMBY
1575 Alton Road (Crescent Heights, historic Firestone site)FiledMiami-Dade1632026-09-21, The Real Deal
215 Fifth StreetFiledPalm Beach412026-08-26, The Real Deal
220 Congress Park Drive residential projectFiledPalm Beachnot published2026-09-23, Florida YIMBY
3180 Biscayne Boulevard two-tower projectFiledMiami-Dade1,0302026-09-23, Miami Today
464 Fern Street ResidencesFiledPalm Beach1942026-08-21, Florida YIMBY
Annie Coleman RedevelopmentFiledMiami-Dade1802026-08-24, Florida YIMBY
Li'l Abner IVFiledMiami-Dade2502026-08-10, Florida YIMBY
Magnus Grove (Stirrup Plaza redevelopment)FiledMiami-Dadenot published2026-08-02, South Florida Business Journal
Miami World Towers Phase 2B (20 NE 8th Street)FiledMiami-Dade7052026-05-24, Florida YIMBY
Nine HundredFiledBroward5402026-08-30, Florida YIMBY
Northside Town Station IIFiledMiami-Dade2802026-08-09, Florida YIMBY
Ohio AllapattahFiledMiami-Dade2602026-09-12, Florida YIMBY
Solara VillageFiledMiami-Dade2002026-08-17, Florida YIMBY
The Galleria at Fort Lauderdale RedevelopmentFiledBroward3,1442026-09-05, South Florida Sun Sentinel
1250 West Avenue (Bay Garden Manor redevelopment)PlannedMiami-Dade1062026-08-03, The Real Deal
7410 Collins AvenuePlannedMiami-Dade502026-09-06, Florida YIMBY
AureviaPlannedMiami-Dade2252026-09-13, Florida YIMBY
Aventura City Center (BH Group + Apollo Cos)PlannedMiami-Dadenot published2026-07-07, The Real Deal
B Residences Miami (Breitling-branded)PlannedMiami-Dade3002026-06-27, Florida YIMBY
Beach House by Turnberry at SoLe MiaPlannedMiami-Dade5152026-08-20, The Real Deal
Downtown SoMi (Shops at Sunset Place redevelopment)PlannedMiami-Dade1,5132026-07-15, The Real Deal
EnSima Miami GardensPlannedMiami-Dade6702026-07-30, The Real Deal
Eurus at KendallPlannedMiami-Dadenot published2026-07-09, Florida YIMBY
La Fontana co-op redevelopment (Chuck Whittall)PlannedPalm Beachnot published2026-09-01, Boca Raton Tribune (Palm Beach Post)
Lakeview at NaranjaPlannedMiami-Dade3282026-09-09, Florida YIMBY
Magic City Innovation DistrictPlannedMiami-Dadenot published2026-06, Florida YIMBY
Magnolia Point Phase 1PlannedMiami-Dade4092026-09-12, Florida YIMBY
MetropicaPlannedBroward1,3002026-08-31, The Real Deal
Redland ReservePlannedMiami-Dade5822026-09-08, The Real Deal
Shoppes at Wilton Manors RedevelopmentPlannedBroward892026-08-27, The Real Deal
The Ritz-Carlton Residences, Fort Lauderdale BeachPlannedBrowardnot published2026-07-08, Florida YIMBY
The SuttonPlannedPalm Beach4322026-07-15, Florida YIMBY
Vybe 75PlannedMiami-Dade3662026-08-11, Florida YIMBY
Watson HarbourPlannedMiami-Dade1002026-09-04, The Real Deal
3333 Biscayne BoulevardPermittedMiami-Dade6672026-08-10, Florida YIMBY
700 North Miami Avenue at Miami WorldcenterPermittedMiami-Dade2,3462026-07-27, PROFILEmiami
Alton BiscaynePermittedMiami-Dade3362026-08-13, The Real Deal
Billionaires' Beach (100 Lincoln Road)PermittedMiami-Dade302026-07-20, The Real Deal
Biscayne 18PermittedMiami-Dade1,1782026-07-26, Florida YIMBY
Crystal ResidencesPermittedMiami-Dade1842026-08-27, The Real Deal
Forma Suites Phase 2PermittedMiami-Dadenot published2026-08-20, The Real Deal
Gallery at LummusPermittedMiami-Dade4402026-08-06, The Real Deal
Mohawk at WynwoodPermittedMiami-Dade3002026-08-13, The Real Deal
NoMi Botanik (Project Land)PermittedMiami-Dade482026-06-20, Florida YIMBY
ODA-Designed Skyscrapers (Fort Lauderdale)PermittedBrowardnot published2026-07-10, Florida YIMBY
Rybovich Marina RedevelopmentPermittedPalm Beach6602025-09-18, The Real Deal
The Opus at 701 (Fort Lauderdale)PermittedBrowardnot published2026-06-19, South Florida Agent
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach (1 Lincoln Road)PermittedMiami-Dadenot published2026-07-30, The Real Deal
The Winsberg at Green CayPermittedPalm Beach2202026-09-07, Florida YIMBY
1775 Biscayne (LCOR)Under constructionMiami-Dade5442026-07-04, Florida YIMBY
2900 TerraceUnder constructionMiami-Dade3242026-08-31, Florida YIMBY
AventanaUnder constructionMiami-Dade3342026-09-13, Florida YIMBY
Crescendo at Link at DouglasUnder constructionMiami-Dade3922026-07-22, South Florida Agent
La Baia SouthUnder constructionMiami-Dadenot published2026-08-04, The Real Deal
Le Parc LauderhillUnder constructionBroward3852026-08-11, Florida YIMBY
One Brickell Riverfront (LOFTY Brickell + The Standard Residences Brickell)Under constructionMiami-Dade7842026-08-05, The Real Deal
Prime Square DoralUnder constructionMiami-Dadenot published2026-09, Florida YIMBY
Serenity GardensUnder constructionMiami-Dade1532026-08-10, Bisnow
Shoma BayUnder constructionMiami-Dade3332026-09-01, The Real Deal
The AurelianUnder constructionMiami-Dade1612026-08-13, Florida YIMBY
The Cove (1055 N Federal Highway)Under constructionBroward3762026-08-03, Bisnow
The Plaza Davie DistrictUnder constructionBroward1,2922026-09-10, Florida YIMBY
The Residences at Claude PepperUnder constructionMiami-Dade4282026-06-28, Florida YIMBY
The Rider ResidencesUnder constructionMiami-Dade1522026-09-14, PROFILEmiami
The TriangleUnder constructionMiami-Dade1122026-09-05, Florida YIMBY
Lumara ResidencesComing soonMiami-Dade1392026-08-20, The Real Deal
Midtown Park Residences by ProperComing soonMiami-Dade282026-07-15, The Real Deal
OLIN Palm BeachComing soonPalm Beach322026-08-02, OLIN Palm Beach (developer site)
Alba Palm BeachCompletedPalm Beach552026-06-25, PROFILEmiami
Nautilus 220CompletedPalm Beach3302026-08-11, Developer site
The Standard Residences, Midtown MiamiCompletedMiami-Dade2282026-06-21, Florida YIMBY

Eighteen of the 91 rows carry no unit count. That is not an omission on my side: those developers have published no unit figure, so the honest cell is blank rather than an estimate. It also means the real pipeline is larger than 31,038 units, not smaller.

Gerardo's Read: I Price the Stage Before I Price the Unit

The advice I give buyers on pre-construction has narrowed to one question over the last two years, and it is not about the finishes. It is whether anyone has pulled a permit. Everything else on the table, the price per foot, the deposit schedule, the amenity list, is a negotiation. The permit is a fact.

What I tell clients weighing an early-stage tower against a permitted one is this. At planned stage you are being asked to fund optionality. You take the launch pricing, and in exchange you accept that the building may be redesigned, resized, delayed by years, or never built at all, and that your money sits in escrow while the market moves without you. That trade can be worth it, but only when the discount to a permitted comparable is large enough to pay you for the wait. Most of the time it is not, because early pricing is set against where the developer hopes the market will be, not where it is.

My rule with the 54 paper projects in this file is simple. I will show a client an unpermitted project, and I will tell them exactly which stage it is at and what still has to happen. What I will not do is let them compare its price to a permitted tower as if the two carry the same risk. They do not, and the gap in this file is not small: 34 projects are legally cleared to rise and 54 are not.

  • Ask for the permit number, not the timeline. A timeline is marketing. A permit number is a public record you can verify yourself.
  • Read the outside date in the contract. The marketed delivery year is not the date that binds the developer.
  • Weigh your competition by stage, not by count. The 34 permitted projects are what will actually be on the market with you.
  • Watch the county, not just the neighborhood. Broward projects average 746 units, so a single Broward start changes local supply far more than a Miami-Dade one.
The Miami Beach and PortMiami skyline in silhouette at sunrise with port gantry cranes on the left
The 34 projects past permitting hold 12,792 units, 41.2 percent of every unit published in this file. Photo by joiseyshowaa via Flickr, CC BY-SA 2.0.

Methodology, Scope and What This Cannot Tell You

This report reads the LuxuryDade South Florida development tracking file as of September 26, 2026. That file holds 102 entries. Eleven of them carry no dated published source yet and are excluded from every figure on this page, which leaves the 91 projects reported here. Nothing is estimated, modelled or inferred: a project appears only when a named publication or a developer's own site has reported it with a date.

Every figure on this page is produced by one script that reads that file and nothing else, so the stage table, the county table, the citation table and the register above cannot disagree with each other. The register section lists all 91 rows with the dated source behind each stage assignment, and the same rows are published as a CSV.

Stage is recorded from the most recent dated report for each project and follows the definitions in the table above. Unit counts are the developer's or the reporting outlet's published figure. Eighteen of the 91 projects publish no unit count, so every unit total on this page describes 73 projects, not 91, and the true pipeline is larger than 31,038 units. County is assigned from the project's stated address or neighborhood.

Scope limits worth stating. This is a tracked set, not a census of every condominium project in South Florida, and it inherits the coverage priorities of the outlets it is built from. It includes rental and mixed-use projects alongside for-sale condominiums, because both compete for the same land and the same construction capacity. It does not predict which paper projects will be built, and a permit is not a guarantee of delivery, only of legal clearance to begin.

Resale market context comes from MIAMI REALTORS and RWorld August 2026 Miami-Dade statistics, the Broward release and the Palm Beach release, all published September 16, 2026 and covering August 2026, the most recent county data available at publication.

Last verified September 26, 2026. This census is rebuilt from the tracking file on the same schedule the file is reviewed, so a project that clears permitting or breaks ground moves buckets here. The next scheduled update is December 2026.

Related Resources

Frequently Asked Questions

How many condo projects are in the South Florida pipeline in 2026?
LuxuryDade tracks 91 South Florida condominium and mixed-use development projects that carry at least one dated published source, as of September 26 2026. Seventy-three of them publish a unit count, and those 73 total 31,038 units. The set covers Miami-Dade, Broward and Palm Beach counties and is a tracked set, not a census of every project in the region.
How many South Florida condo projects have actually been permitted?
Thirty-four of the 91, or 37.4 percent. That is 15 permitted, 16 under construction and three completed. The other 54 are still on paper at rumor, proposed, filed or planned stage, and three more are marketing a launch without a permit. A project that has not cleared permitting can still be redesigned, resized or dropped.
Do the permitted South Florida projects hold most of the pipeline units?
Not any more. The 34 projects past permitting hold 12,792 of the 31,038 tracked units, or 41.2 percent, while the 54 still on paper hold 18,047 units, or 58.1 percent. That reverses the September 5 edition, when the permitted minority held 57.5 percent of the units. It flipped because 15 of the 21 projects added to the file since then are still on paper, including two filed projects of more than 700 units each.
Does Miami condo months of supply include pre-construction?
No. MIAMI REALTORS states in every release that its sales totals exclude South Florida new construction, pre-construction and condo conversion sales because they are largely not reported in the MLS. Miami-Dade existing condominiums sat at 12.1 months of supply across 11,495 active listings in August 2026, and none of the 31,038 pipeline units in this report are inside that figure.
Which South Florida county has the most projects in the pipeline?
Miami-Dade, with 64 of the 91 tracked projects, or 70.3 percent, and 20,322 units across the 52 that publish a count. Broward holds 14 projects and Palm Beach 13. Broward's projects are the largest on average at 746 units each, against 391 in Miami-Dade and 251 in Palm Beach.
What does each pipeline stage actually mean for a buyer?
Rumor and proposed mean nothing is filed and the design can still change completely. Filed and planned mean a public application exists but no approval to build. Permitted means the building permit is issued and the project is legally cleared to rise. Under construction means work is visibly underway. Only the last two carry a meaningful probability of delivering on the marketed timeline.
Where does the data in this pipeline report come from?
Every project in the set traces to a dated published report. The 129 dated citations behind these 91 projects break down as 54 from Florida YIMBY, 45 from The Real Deal, seven from the South Florida Business Journal, five from PROFILEmiami, four from Bisnow and 14 from other outlets and developer sites. One hundred and twenty-three of the 129 were published in 2026, the newest dated September 23, 2026.